“Doing enough”: The challenge of long-distance caregiving

AS OUR SOCIETY BECOMES increasingly mobile and “global,” more and more of us are confronting the challenge of trying to take care of – or even keep track of – elderly and disabled family members living on the other side of the continent, or even on a different continent. As a matter of fact, I find myself in this situation myself, as my own mother back in the Midwest falls deeper and deeper under the shadow of Alzheimer’s. I suspect many readers here at OS will know from personal experience what I’m up against and are wondering how to proceed themselves. That is why I am presenting the following interview – which comes out of my day job as a professional writer – in the hope that…

Continued…

Leave a Reply

