Why I won’t be buying an “e-reader”

WITH A TITLE LIKE that you’re probably expecting some Luddite screed from a hopeless romantic who somehow managed to mislay his ticket for the high-tech express. But this will be nothing of the sort. Like many, perhaps most contributors to this site, I basically live online. Without computers and the Internet I would not be able to earn a living and inform myself. Nor am I against electronic reading devices per se. In fact, I would be very interested in a device that would facilitate my reading of blogs, online newspaper and magazine articles, Wikipedia, reference works, data banks etc. In other words: I would use it to manage the ephemeral substance of which the Internet is made…

Continued…

Leave a Reply

